wood wall rises

Soon after I tackled my mountain mural in my art room, my husband Justin took on the project of making a pallet wall for his music room. I helped a little…

I couldn’t really tell you the initial spark of inspiration for the pallet wall but as far as the room’s overall style, Justin had seen a blue and white cape cod home he really liked, and also based it around this ocean painting he got from an aunt and uncle years ago.

IMG_3509

He painted 3 walls in the room the navy color above several weeks before he was able to put up the wall because going out to find pallets took a lot longer than we expected. I tried to get them from work, but that was a dead end. I heard that your best bet is to go around to small businesses, and kindly ask them if they have extra pallets they don’t want. Personally, this is not my style. And no it wasn’t just the idea of asking strangers for free things that held me back, it was honestly just too much work so I kept pushing it off to tomorrow’s to do list. Tomorrow finally came when I didn’t have to do any work to find the pallets because Lauren found them for me! Ah, just the way I like to get things done. She went and picked them up for us, so my husband just had to go pick them up from her place – I think poor Lauren still had to keep them in her garage for at least 2 weeks (….honestly could’ve been longer…yeah I definitely think it was…). Saurry Laurry! Endless gratitude!

Justin then took the pallets to a friend’s workplace to strip them down.
He started with a chisel, hammer, and crowbar to pull them apart which he said was pretty difficult and time consuming. He was able to find a sawzall eventually, but the blade was too dull so it wouldn’t cut through the nails easily and he had to go back to using the crowbar method. He also had a punch to punch out the old nails.
Several of the planks had cracks in them, so my husband used the sawzall to cut the planks into smaller pieces so they could still be used.
There was a planer on site, so while he stripped, our friend was able to easily run them through that and get one side of each plank pretty smooth. A planer isn’t necessary though, they can be smoothed out with a sander.

Once he brought them home, he cut them down even smaller with a miter saw and then they were ready to be stained.

IMG_2911

We used Minwax’s Dark Walnut and some old socks and applied the stain very lightly. A little goes an extremely long way.

IMG_2901

We left them out to dry for a day, and the next day he got them up on the wall. He used 2″ indoor wood screws to install the planks. Instead of placing the planks directly next to each other and lining them up perfectly like most pallet walls I’ve seen, he decided to stack a second layer in certain parts which helped to cover any gaps from uneven edges and added a really interesting depth.

IMG_3421

Here’s a before photo:
917 086

And some after shots!

IMG_3519

If you look closely at the top of the photo you can see 5 square pieces on the wall. These are wood burning pieces he made last year that he stained and screwed into the wall.

IMG_3439

IMG_3522

IMG_3497

IMG_0150.jpg

Lilly

Leave a Reply

